Goresbridge was named after the Gore Family, local landlords who came from Lecum in Hertfordshire after receiving grants of confiscated land. The attractive bridge across the River Barrow was built by Sir Ralph Gore in 1756 and is one of the longest masonry bridges on the River Barrow. Goresbridge quickly developed as a market and postal town. Transport infrastructure was improved when the barrow line of the grand canal was opened in the 1790’s. This provided an opportunity for trade and encouraged industrial production in the area.
The town’s character can be broken down into individual components. These include the River Barrow and its beautiful bridge, tow path and moorings; the main thoroughfares with their old terraced houses, shops and outbuildings; the ecclesiastical structures including the churches, former convent and national school; the more recent development of housing estates and the Glanbia food production site. As a rural town, open space and farmland contributes greatly to the character of Goresbridge and the landscape provides a pleasant backdrop to the town centre.
Goresbridge is most notable for its attractive riverscape and impressive 18th century bridge. The river and its banks are home to wildlife and is an area for leisure and relaxation, which offers enjoyable walks, good angling, moorings for cruising boats and a place to picnic. A lot of work has been done to develop the area beside the bridge known as River Park. This area also includes a boat ramp, making the Barrow easily accessible for Boaters and Kayakers. Just down stream of here is the entrance to Cois Bearbha Park, which features a lovely pathway as far the picturesque weir.
Gore’s Bridge, Angling, River Park, Cois Bearbha & architectural heritage.